Program Faculty Research Areas

Name/Personal Web Site/Links Research Area(s) Email

Adams, Paul

Biophysical characterization of proteins associated with signal transduction

pxa001@uark.edu

Al-Rubaye, Adnan
Associate Director

Management and genetic improvements to reduce bacterial chondronecrosis with osteomyelitis and lameness in broiler chickens.

aakhalaf@uark.edu

Alverson, Andrew

Diatom comparative genomics, molecular evolution, and phylogenetics

aja@uark.edu

Anthony, Nicholas

Poultry breeding and quantitative genetics

nanthony@uark.edu

Atungulu, Griffiths

Engineering effective strategies to maintain grain quality and prevent mycotoxin development

atungulu@uark.edu

Bacon, Robert

Wheat, oats and canola breeding and genetics; Molecular markers

rbacon@uark.edu

Balachandran, Kartik

Cardiovascular mechanobiology and structure-function relationships; Organ-on-chip development; Development of hybrid polymers for regenerative medicine

kbalacha@uark.edu

Barabote, Ravi

Microbial genomics; Bioinformatics; Microbial production of Biofuels

barabote@uark.edu

Baum, Jamie

Metabolic programming, mitochondrial function, energy metabolism, cell signaling, and gene expression, related to obesity and type 2 diabetes.

baum@uark.edu

Beitle, Bob

Bioseparation and fermentation

rbeitle@uark.edu

Beyzavi, Hassan

Biomimetic nanomaterials and catalysts for applications in biomedical imaging, PET for cancer and brain imaging; MRI contrast agents; cancer therapy, Photodynamic Therapy; energy sustainability and green industrial and chemical transformations.

beyzavi@uark.edu

Bluhm, Burton

Plant Pathology

bbluhm@uark.edu

Bottje, Walter

Poultry physiology

wbottje@uark.edu

Burgos, Nilda

Weed and herbicide physiology, genetic diversity of weeds, herbicide-resistant plants

nburgos@uark.edu

Carbonero, Franck

Effect of the diet on the gut microbiome, and gut health and disease. Human and animal gut microbiota characterization.

fgcarbon@uark.edu

Cartwright, Rick

Molecular aspects of plant host interaction with pathogens interaction and how to integrate this information into rice disease management.

rcartwri@uark.edu

Ceballos, R. Michael

Protein biochemistry in cellular and molecular virology of double-stranded DNA virus systems. Primary virus infection and reactivation in mammalian and fish diseases; biotechnology development of archaeal and algal dsDNA virus systems.

ceballos@uark.edu

Correll, Jim

Biology, genetics and molecular biology of fungal pathogens of vegetables and rice

jcorrell@uark.edu

Donoghue, Annie

(USDA/ARS) Poultry Production and Product Safety Research Unit (research leader), physiology

donoghue@uark.edu

Donoghue, Dan

Poultry physiology and food safety

ddonogh@uark.edu

Douglas, Michael

Genetic population structure of avian species

med1@uark.edu

Dowling, Ashley

Molecular systematics of Acari (mites) and other arthropods and its use in studying biogeography, evolution, and the evolution of parasitism; population genetics of pest mites focusing on origins, invasive pathways, and diagnostics.

adowling@uark.edu

Dridi, Sami

Avian endocrinology and molecular genetics

dridi@uark.edu

Du, Yuchun

Mass spectrometry based quantitative proteomics; mammalian cell biology

ydu@uark.edu

Durdik, Jeannine

Genetics of the immune system. NOTE: Dr. Durdik is unable to accept students at this time.

jdurdik@uark.edu

Egan, Martin

Investigating the molecular strategies employed by plant pathogenic fungi to co-opt host cells and cause disease

me021@uark.edu

Erf, Gisela

Poultry immunology; autoimmunity

gferf@uark.edu

Etges, William

Population genetics, pheromone chemistry, genetics of reproductive isolation

wetges@uark.edu

Evans, Timothy

Genetics of neural development, evolution of axon guidance mechanisms, embryonic development in Drosophila and Tribolium.

evanst@uark.edu

Fan, Chenguang

Protein biochemistry, microbiology, and synthetic biology in using genetic code expansion techniques to incorporate noncanonical amino acids into proteins for different studies

cf021@uark.edu

Foley, Steven

FDA laboratory: bacterial pathogenesis, zoonoses, food safety, and molecular methods for pathogen characterization

Steven.Foley@fda.hhs.gov

Fritsch, Ingrid

Lab-on-a-chip design and analysis of biological substances: microorganisms, allergens, DNA, proteins

ifritsch@uark.edu

Gibson, Kristen

Molecular investigation of foodborne viruses; application of molecular methods to foodborne and waterborne virus ecology; control of microbial cross contamination from farm to fork

keg005@uark.edu

Goforth, Robyn

Protein export systems in pro- and eukaryotes; posttranslational SRP targeting system in chloroplasts

rgofort@uark.edu

Goggin, Fiona L

Host plant resistance and plant insect interaction

fgoggin@uark.edu

Greene, Nicholas

Skeletal muscle biology, mitochondrial biogenesis and quality control, exercise response and adaptation, dyslipidemia, obesity/diabetes, cell signaling, muscle protein synthesis.

npgreene@uark.edu

Greenlee, Lauren

Biomimetic and nanocatalyst design for antimicrobial, water treatment, biofuels conversion, and agricultural, applications.

greenlee@uark.edu

Hargis, Billy

Poultry veterinarian, poultry health lab director, poultry diseases

bhargis@uark.edu

Henry, Ralph

Protein targeting, chloroplast biogenesis, agrimedicine, protein transport, recombinant protein expression. NOTE: no longer accepting students.

rahenry@uark.edu

Hestekin, Christa

Separation of biomolecules (DNA and proteins) using microchannel electrophoresis for applications in medicinal and environmental applications.

chesteki@uark.edu

Hestekin, Jamie

Hollow fibers in artificial lung applications; hollow fibers for tissue engineering.

jhesteki@uark.edu

Hettiarachchy, Navam

Nutraceuticals, phytochemicals, natural antioxidants, food safety; Biochemical mechanisms of biopeptides and diseases

nhettiar@uark.edu

Heyes, Colin

Single Molecule Fluorescence Studies of Protein Conformational Dynamics

cheyes@uark.edu

Howard, Luke

Health-promoting properties of fruit and vegetable phytochemicals and nutriceuticals

Lukeh@uark.edu

Huang, Yan

Skeletal muscle development, Nutrition and metabolism

yxh010@uark.edu

Ivey, Mack

Molecular microbiology and genetics

mivey@uark.edu

Iyer, Shilpa

Energy Deficiency Disorders; Neuromuscular diseases;Mitochondrial Genetics and Bioenergetics; Telomere dysfunction and Genome Instability; Public Health Awareness and Wellness

si012@uark.edu

Jensen, Hanna

Neurological implications of cardiovascular disease and intervention; Ischemic tissue injury

hkjensen@uark.edu

Jia, Yulin

Host resistance, host-pathogen interaction and co-evolution.

yulin.jia@ars.usda.gov

Kim, Jae Kyeom

Prevention of chronic diseases using foods and bioactive compounds; Dietary modulation of metabolism of carcinogens; Toxicological aspects of foods.

jkk003@uark.edu

Kim, Jin Woo

Biocatalysis technology, nucleic acid technology, and micro/nano-biotechnology

jwkim@uark.edu

Kirkpatrick, Terrence

Biology, ecology and control of plant-parasitic nematodes in crop production systems

tkirkpatrick@uaex.edu

Koeppe, Roger

Membrane biochemistry; ion channels for molecular signaling

rk2@uark.edu

Kong, Byung-Whi

Molecular virology; functional genomics in host-virus interactions.

bkong@uark.edu

Korth, Ken

Plant:insect interactions, plant gene expression, terpenoid metabolism

kkorth@uark.edu

Kral, Tim

Methanogenic metabolism, physiology and ecology life on Mars; exobiology; astrobiology; bioastronomy

tkral@uark.edu

Kuenzel, Wayne

Poultry physiology; neurobiology

wkuenzel@uark.edu

Kumar, T.K. Suresh

Protein 3-D structure, dynamics, folding and interactions

sthalla@uark.edu

Kwon, Young Min

Genetic/genomic analysis of bacterial pathogens

ykwon@uark.edu

Lamm, Connie

Use of EEG and fMRI to discern differential patterns of neural activation underlying typical and atypical development relating to self-regulation strategies, and how they are impacted by factors, such as emotion, age, temperament, and beliefs.

lamm@uark.edu

Lay, Jackson

Protein mass spectrometry, biomarkers

jlay@uark.edu

Lee, Sun-Ok

Role of bioactive components in the prevention of CVD, type 2 diabetes, and colon cancer; Bioavailability and bioefficacy of phytochemicals in pre-clinical and clinical trials

sunok@uark.edu

Lehmann, Michael

Gene regulation, chromatin structure, steroid hormone action, apoptosis, Drosophila genetics and development

mlehmann@uark.edu

Lessner, Daniel

Archeobacteria; Sulfur cluster proteins

dlessner@uark.edu

Lewis, Jeff

Functional and comparative genomics of microbial stress responses. Natural variation and the physiology of microbes in the wild. Yeast and bacterial genetics, biochemistry, and molecular biology.

lewisja@uark.edu

Li, Jiali

Nanofabrication, nanoscale materials science, and single DNA and protein detection

jialili@uark.edu

Li, Yanbin

Biosensors, food safety, biological security

yanbinli@uark.edu

Mason, R. Esten

Wheat breeding, genetics and genomics

esten@uark.edu

McIntosh, Matt

Synthetic organic chemistry, natural product total synthesis, methods development

mcintosh@uark.edu

McNabb, David

Regulation of gene expression, pathogenesis of Candida albicans

dmcnabb@uark.edu

Millett, Frank

Bioenergetics; electron transfer reactions

millett@uark.edu

Moradi, Mahmoud

Biomolecular simulations of protein conformational dynamics, computational investigation of structure-function relationships in proteins

moradi@uark.edu

Muldoon, Timothy

Biomedical optics and imaging systems for diagnosis of disease

tmuldoon@uark.edu

Nakanishi, Nagayasu

Early animal evolution, using marine invertebrate models (sea anemones and jellyfish, in particular) to determine key molecular, cellular and developmental factors underpinning the origin and early evolution of sensory and nervous systems

nnakanis@uark.edu

Patitz, Matthew

Theoretical and computational models of nanoscale self-assembling systems

patitiz@uark.edu

Paul, David

Chemical sensors; electronics and transducer design; enzyme electrodes; acoustic wave devices for bioanaytical analysis, rapid diagnosis of food pathogens.

dpaul@uark.edu

Pereira, Andy

Rice functional genomics, disease resistance, drought tolerance

aperiera@uark.edu

Pinto, Ines

Chromatin, histones, yeast, chromosome segregation, mitosis

ipinto@uark.edu

Purcell, Larry

Soybean genetics, molecular mapping, and breeding

lpurcell@uark.edu

Quinn, Kyle

Development of optical biomarkers to monitor wound healing for therapy; quantification of cell-matrix interactions during fibrosis; metabolic imaging in live cells and tissues

kpquinn@uark.edu

Rajaram, Narasimhan

Development of functional molecular imaging techniques to determine tumor response to therapy; cell metabolism in tumor microenvironments of metastatic tumors.

nrajaram@uark.edu

Rao, Raj

Cellular engineering methods to develop technologies for regenerative biomedical therapies.

rajrao@uark.edu

Rath, Narayan

Molecular Mechanisms of Metabolic Diseases in Poultry; Increasing Gastrointestinal Resistance to Disease

nrath@uark.edu

Rhoads, Douglas, Director

Eukaryotic molecular genetics; developmental genetics, genomics, transgenics. Molecular genetics of medical diseases using the chicken as a model.

drhoads@uark.edu

Ricke, Steve

Food Safety, Salmonella pathogenesis, genetics, and physiology; Food fermentations; Gastrointestinal microbiology

sricke@uark.edu

Rojas, Clemencia

Molecular and cellular mechanisms of plant innate immunity and bacterial virulence

cr022@uark.edu

Roper, Keith

Photon-induced plasmons in nanoparticle-conjugated nucleotides for DNA assays, sensors, cancer therapy, and cell & gene engineering.

dkroper@uark.edu

Rorie, Rick

Reproductive Physiology; In vitro investigations of infertility in livestock through oocyte maturation, and embryo culture; Physiological processes in fescue toxicosis in cattle.

rrorie@uark.edu

Rosenkranz, Charles

Embryonic development, cloning, transgenics, gene regulation

crosenkr@uark.edu

Rothrock, Craig

Soilborne plant pathogens: chemical, cultural and alternative strategies for control. Sustainable cropping systems for cotton and other field crops.

rothrock@uark.edu

Rupe, John

Genetic population structure of soybean pathogens and the molecular interactions of soybean and pathogens.

jrupe@uark.edu

Sakon, Joshua

Protein crystallography; structure of medically or industrially important proteins

jsakon@uark.edu

Savin, Mary

Microbial ecology in soil and water. Antibiotic resistance and broad host range plasmid dissemination from treated effluent. Nutrient cycling and microbial ecology in organic and sustainable agricultural production systems.

msavin@uark.edu

Servoss, Shannon

Development of biomimetic, peptoid constructs for biomedical applications; peptoid-based affinity reagents and surface coatings for antibody microarrays.

sservoss@uark.edu

Shi, Ainong

Germplasm development and cultivar improvement for vegetable crops; Molecular breeding including QTL analysis, marker identification and marker-assisted selection; Predictive breeding in crops

ashi@uark.edu

Shi, Wei

Chemical Biology; Chemical Proteomics; Medicinal Chemistry; Drug Design; Biological target identification of bio-active small molecules

weishi@uark.edu

Spiegel, Fred

Protozoology; mycology

fspiegel@uark.edu

Srivastava, Vibha

Development of molecular tools for precise integration of foreign genes in the plant genome and of strategies for generating environmentally safe transgenic plants

vibhas@uark.edu

Stenken, Julie

Bioanalytical chemistry; Bioengineering; Inflammatory responses to implants; In vivo chemical analysis of peptides and proteins

jstenken@uark.edu

Stephenson, Steve

Assemblages of myxomycetes associated with boreal forest, tundra and other ecosystems of high-latitude; the myxomycetes associated with Neotropical forests; the ecological distribution patterns of all three groups of mycetozoans

slsteph@uark.edu

Stites, Wesley

Chemical and physical understanding of protein structure, interactions and function. Oxidative post-translational modifications of proteins and impact on structure-function.

wstites@uark.edu

Striegler, Susanne

Organic Chemistry: carbohydrates, glycosidases, catalysis, molecular recognition, micro- and nanogels

sstriegl@uark.edu

Sun, Xiaolun

The complex interplay between bacterial pathogens, microbiome and host immune system in gastrointestinal tract.

xiaoluns@uark.edu

Szalanski, Allen

Insect population genetics, molecular systematics, molecular diagnostics

aszalan@uark.edu

Tian, Ryan

Nanostructure surface chemistry for biomedical application; sensor catalysis and nanoscale architecture

rtian@uark.edu

Tipsmark, Christian

Fish physiology.

tipsmark@uark.edu

Trudo, Sabrina

Diet and prevention of cancer and obesity. Gene-diet interactions; whole foods versus bioactive compounds; diet interventions in humans and rat models.

trudo@uark.edu

Tzanetakis, Ioannis

New plant diseases, plant virus characterization and epidemiology, virus genes as disease determinants.

itzaneta@uark.edu

Wang, Yong

Combining quantitative super-resolved fluorescence microscopy, single-molecule techniques and statistical physics to study the interfaces between physics, nanotechnology, and biology.

yongwang@uark.edu

Washington, Tyrone

Human skeletal muscle regeneration, cell signaling, gene expression, fatigue, atrophy

tawashin@uark.edu

Westerman, Erica

Behavioral genetics/genomics, developmental plasticity, and the neural mechanisms underlying sensory integration in butterflies.

ewesterm@uark.edu

Wilkins, Charles

Bacteria and tissue analysis by mass spectrometry

cwilkins@uark.edu

Wolchok, Jeffrey

Development of regenerative biomaterials for biological implants with clinical relevancy. Remodeling of extracellular matrices for human primary and stem cells for tissue repair in muscle and vocal tissues.

jwolchok@uark.edu

Worthington, Margaret

Molecular genetics and genomics for improving fruit breeding.

mlworthi@uark.edu

Zhang, Qingyang

Computational and systems biology; Statistical modeling of biological regulatory processes; Analysis of large-scale cancer genomic data.

qz008@uark.edu

Zhao, Jiangchao

Multi-omics analysis of the human and animal microbiome in health and disease, ecology and evolution of microbiome, biomarkers, big data.

jzhao77@uark.edu